

Student Representative Assembly Meeting 23C Sunday April 30, 2023 10:00am Council Chambers, GH 111

Called to order at 10:51am

CALL OF THE ROLL

Present: Ahmad, Arora, Batusic, Begun, Ellis, Forbes, Hannan, Hu, John, Khandelwal,

Mohammed, Pacheco, Qannam, Shouldice, Singh, Su, Yousef, Zakkar

Absence Excused:

Absent: Abbott, Campbell, Chui, Dodd, Fellman, German, Gono, Herzstein, Masudi, Suganthan,

Thusyanthan, Wang, Wong, Yang, Yao, Zafar

Late:

Others Present: Abigail Samuels (VP Education candidate), Khushee Patel (VP Education candidate),

Jovan Popovic (President-elect), Renee Boney (Observer) D. Stajcer (Recording

Secretary)

Chair: Simranjeet Singh

Territory Recognition

• The SRA would like to recognize today that we are situated on traditional Haudenosaunee and Anishnaabe territories through the 'Dish with One Spoon Wampum Treaty'.

- The Speaker and Deputy Speaker were not present for the meeting.
- The Executive Assistant asked the Assembly to appoint a Speaker pro tempore.

Moved by Ahmad, seconded by Arora by that the Assembly appoint Simranjeet Singh as Speaker, pro tempore.

Ahmad said they wanted to proceed with appointing the individual.

Vote on Motion

Passes Unanimously

Singh assumed the Chair.

Adoption of Agenda

Moved by Ahmad, seconded by Arora that the Assembly adopt the agenda, as presented.

Ahmad said they wanted to get the meeting started.

Vote to Adopt

Passes Unanimously

Announcements from The Chair

• The Speaker welcomed everyone to the meeting. They noted it was their first time acting as Speaker, aside from chairing the corporate meetings.

Special Orders of the Day

1. Election of Vice-President (Education)

Moved by Pacheco, **seconded** by Arora that the Assembly close nominations for the Vice-President (Education) 2023-2024.

- Pacheco noted the position needed to be filled and wanted to proceed.
- Arora said there were amazing candidates present.

Nominations

- Abigail Samuels
- Khushee Patel
- Bani Hussain withdrew their nomination

Vote on Motion

Passes Unanimously

Moved by Ahmad, seconded by Zakkar to exhaust the Speakers list.

- Ahmad said it was fair to get through all individuals on the Speakers list.
- Zakkar said it was fair to hear everyone's questions.

Vote on Motion

Passes Unanimously

- The candidates spoke within the allotted time.
- The Assembly voted by open ballot.

	FIRST CHOICE	SECOND CHOICE
ABBOTT, Jazzlyn	ABSENT	
AHMAD, Malaikah	SAMUELS	PATEL
ARORA, Parth	SAMUELS	PATEL
BATUSIC, Simon	SAMUELS	PATEL
BEGUN, Isaac	SAMUELS	PATEL
CAMPBELL, Georgia	ABSENT	
CHUI, Sarphina	ABSENT	
DODD, Olivia	ABSENT	
ELLIS, Chelsey	PATEL	SAMUELS
FELLMAN, Brennan	ABSENT	
FORBES, Liam	SAMUELS	PATEL
GERMAN, Mitchell	ABSENT	
GONO, Sinead	ABSENT	
HANNAN, Paige	SAMUELS	PATEL
HERZSTEIN, Erin	ABSENT	
HU, Kevin	SAMUELS – NO CONFIDENCE	PATEL – NO CONFIDENCE

JOHN, Priya	PATEL	SAMUELS
KHANDELWAL, Arin	SAMUELS – NO CONFIDENCE	PATEL – NO CONFIDENCE
MASUDI, Abdullah	ABSENT	
MOHAMMED, Raj	PATEL	SAMUELS
PACHECO, Natalie	PATEL	SAMUELS – NO CONFIDENCE
QANNAM, Fares	SAMUELS	PATEL
SHOULDICE, Hannah	PATEL	
SU, Cloris	SAMUELS	PATEL
SUGANTHAN, Nelosha	ABSENT	
WANG, Zimo	ABSENT	
WONG, Elizabeth	ABSENT	
YANG, Kerry	ABSENT	
YAO, Michael	ABSENT	
YOUSEF, Nada	SAMUELS	PATEL
ZAFAR, Zainab	ABSENT	
ZAKKAR, Leen	SAMUELS	PATEL

Abigail Samuels was elected as the Vice-President (Education) for the 2023-2024 term.

Moved by Arora, **seconded** by Hannan that the Assembly adjourn the meeting.

Vote on Motion

Passes Unanimously

Adjourned at 1:14pm

/ds